Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

Getting Out of My Head and Into My 200+ lb Body – Day 26

beach

I have been having such an interesting time lately. So I changed my diet about 25 days ago … no meat, dairy, sugar, enriched flour, alcohol …for those of you who know me well, I love my beer. And without my afternoon cocktail or mindlessly putting some other food in my mouth … it’s been Eye Opening for me. I’ve had to deal with all sorts of feelings that I normally just shove down beneath my Stella Artois and Blue Goose donuts.

What’s been sticking in my mind is this phrase from Layla Martin’s free Masterclass*:

“The #1 key to being a goddess is getting out of your head and into your body.”

Hmmmm, so the prompt for my diet change was some really awful heartburn that started a couple months back. So bad, that my anxiety level has been sky high. I’ve had a couple of panic attacks and then finally a week ago, I ended up in the ER with a 184/110 blood pressure and chest pains.

They did a barrage of tests and came back and said, ‘your heart looks great.’

Wow. Wonderful!!! … but what about these pains?

So I followed up with a visit to my doctor the next day. We talked about several things (She’s awesome by the way.) She did not think it was heartburn, but maybe something called costochondritis where you strain the muscles in your chest.

I left the hospital and the office, and it has not bothered me since. Okay, a twinge here and there, but I haven’t given it much thought, because I’m not worried about it any more.

I am in my head way too much. What are we going to do about our work situations? What are we going to do about our financial situation? Are the kids okay? Just what is going on in the world?

What about the women’s circles that I host at my house? I’ve been worried about them way too much lately, who’s coming? Are they enjoying them? Should I change something??

Sometimes, isn’t it funny, in order to not worry about the really big things, we spend a lot of time worrying about the small things …

Instead, working on, getting … out of my head.

I host the women’s circles because I enjoy the heck out of them. They have been an incredible means of growth for me to ‘get out of my head’ and into my body. The incense, the sage, singing, drumming, poetry … just all the feels of sitting in a room full of women connecting to some primal Mother Earth energy through meditation, talking, chanting, laughing, crying …

Not everyone gets it. I realize that. And that’s fine, too.

I started the website Find a Womens Circle because I wanted to give more women this opportunity to connect in this way. I thought it would be hugely popular … immediately. And although there’s over 2000 women, many of whom are strongly and enthusiastically supporting it. It’s not enough to financially sustain it.

So I go through in my head all these places to go from here. But I forgot, if you want something, ask. And I really haven’t even asked yet. So that’s my next step: ask. Her, Him, It, the Primordal Ooze, whatever it is that you want to call the force that runs the Universe.

And then walk away.

And get back in to your body.

But there’s so many things to be worried about”, you say. You can’t just leave things up to God, look at all the suffering and hardships and horrible things going on. There’s bills to be paid, college applications to be filled out and all the many, many, many details of life …”

Look, I’m not saying stay in your body. Be in your head. Think about things. But only for so long. And then let it go.

When was the last time you were truly in your body? Go to a park, and watch the young kids.  They know how to be fully there.  Running, playing, laughing … without worrying how they look or if others are looking at their big butt.

Two days ago, I went to Physical Education night at my second grader’s school. It was an hour worth of physical activities ending with this dance where we skipped around the gymnasium. I loved it, watching all these adults skipping. And I made a point not to think about anything, but just fully be there … skipping.

A new friend came to the last Full Moon women’s circle. When she was leaving, she stopped and looked up at the moon and let out a howl.

When was the last time you let out a good howl?

Get outta your head and into your body. No matter what shape, weight or pains and aches you may have. We’re all just here for a short while. Do something today to enjoy it.

  • The picture is from a Facebook friend of mine on the other side of the world in New South Wales.  She’s a big fan of skipping, and I remember we had this conversation, oh a couple of years ago, on when was the last time you skipped anywhere?  Just letting you know Merri, I skipped.  😉
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2017 by in Mama Thoughts and tagged , , .
Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

iOS, Android & Web Architect, Developer, Designer, Programmer, Trainer and Writer.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

