Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

First Week Down – Week One of Engine Two Rescue Diet – Dealing with All the ‘Feels’

anxiety

Bear with me; Even if you think this does not apply, it does:

I have had, since my dad passed away suddenly from a heart attack twenty four years ago, difficulties with anxiety. If you do not have problems with anxiety, you will not know what I am speaking of. ‘Oh, sure, anxiety. Everyone gets anxious now and then.’

I’m not speaking of that type of anxiety. I am speaking of debilitating anxiety; the type where it stays with you the entire day, and everything that you do, you have to do ‘past your anxiety’, meaning getting through the anxiety first, as if you were carrying a newborn baby around with you 24/7. Your first thoughts are always on the anxiety[newborn]. The kind that leads to agoraphobia – avoiding places and staying in your house. The kind that can easily lead to a full blown panic attack where you are absolutely positive that you are dying and you feel this all encompassing dire need to ‘get away’, but you have no idea where to.

I’ve managed this anxiety in different ways throughout the years: antidepressants, alcohol and over-eating mainly. As I age, I have been looking for other ways, such as exercising, meditation, yoga and Women’s Circles.

But I’ve also realized that avoidance does not work and that sometimes the best way is straight through.

These past seven days without my donuts, my afternoon beer and my hamburgers, I have had to deal with more emotions and in a larger quantity than I normally do: anxiety, anger, fear … but I sense it .. that freedom on the other side.

And I’ve also had some very peaceful, beautiful moments this past week too. There’s always a price, right. When you take away that ‘ability to feel’, you take it away on both ends: bad and good.

You know I have realized as I get older, we are pretty much all the same. Just some of us have learned better coping skills.

It’s never too late.

It really impressed upon me from the beginning of the Engine Two Diet book, how when Rip Esselstyn became a Fireman, he had this idea of the rescues that he would be doing.

But the reality was the large majority of rescues were of people who had put themselves in the situation due to their diets and lifestyles: the diseases that come along with extremely overweight people, heart attacks, and the like.

Which makes this just perfect for my other passion: Women’s Circles, which are all about learning to stop looking everywhere else for the ‘answers’ and start looking within yourself. Why not save your health at the same time you’re there. 😉

I wish I could sit here and say I felt fantastic this past week. Don’t get me wrong, there were periods that I did. But I also felt a lot of aches and pains, fear, anxiety, pissed off and sad … but I still did it. Seven days without dairy, meat, sugar, enriched flour and alcohol. And I’m really proud of myself for it.

BTW: I also lost 5 pounds and my blood pressure dropped to 129/83 from its regular average of 142/81.

Onward.

*And I would LOVE to hear that somebody read this and was motivated. I do not care for writing these diet blogs. But they’re going to help keep me accountable, and if it can help motivate someone else as well … awesome!

5 comments on “First Week Down – Week One of Engine Two Rescue Diet – Dealing with All the ‘Feels’

  1. Jenn
    February 6, 2017

    You did it! You made it a week and came out on the other side. Celebrate!! Beautiful blog post. Getting real is where it’s at, a great way to call it what it is, and continue to move forward. That is not an easy health condition to manage and you did it! Great job! Keep it up. ❤

    • Karen Moon
      February 6, 2017

      Thank you Jenn for the kind words and support. ❤ ❤

    • Karen Moon
      February 11, 2017

      Thank you Jenn! On Day 12. I feel fantastic. It has not been the easiest, but I feel my body thanking me. ❤

  2. Ashleigh Richardson
    February 11, 2017

    How exciting for you, I am reading with interest as I am another week closer to doing what you are doing. Can’t wait for the next installment.

  3. Pingback: ‘Your Whole Life is a Stress Test’ – Day 18 of my Engine 2 Rescue Diet | Keep On Path

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2017 by in Mama Thoughts and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,251 hits
Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

iOS, Android & Web Architect, Developer, Designer, Programmer, Trainer and Writer.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

