Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

My Engine Two Diet Rescue

 

DAY ONE

When I started my journey of self discovery a few years back (aka I hit rock bottom and realized I had to do something different), I told myself that I did not care if I was fat and that maybe this was how my body was meant to be. We try to eat healthy in limiting our processed foods and eating fruits and vegetables. And with four kids, I stay somewhat active, taking daily walks and whatnot. So if my body kept its creep upwards, so what.

And things have been stressful in many different ways – four kids in a blended family, financial challenges, personal challenges, etc, so spending the time on losing weight was not high priority for me.  Love me fat.  I am beautiful exactly the way I am.  Those have been my thoughts.

And I do truly believe this, that we are fed this ‘ideal’ of how our bodies should look, and in the large majority of cases, it is unrealistic. I have pretty much spent my entire life feeling ‘overweight’ even though when I look back at my highschool pictures, I see how very untrue that was.

So I decided to love my almost 50 year old self as I am: all 224 pounds of myself.

Only my body had other ideas.

These last two to three weeks, I’ve been experiencing some awful heartburn: severe enough that it has sent me to the doctor’s once where I had an ekg and almost to the ER a couple of times as I was scared it must really be a heart attack since it was so painful.

Along with the heartburn, came my ol’ familiar friend: anxiety. You see, my dad dropped dead of a heart attack at 52 years of age. My mother’s father also died of a heart attack at 52. I’ve had high blood pressure pretty much my entire life and smoked from eighth grade until I finally quit for good when I had my fourth child .. at age 42.

Yes. Age 42. And if you’re an ol’ mama like me, I’m sure you ‘do the numbers’. She’s almost 5, and I’m 47. When she’s 15, I’ll be 57. 30. I’ll be 72. When she is my age; if I am still alive, I would be 89. Which means that I need to do everything I can to make sure that I am around and healthy as long as I can be.

My husband asked why the Engine 2 diet? He has a French mother who along with fresh fruits and vegetables uses tons of butter and meat, meat, meat. I think we eat red meat 5 out of 7 days. And when after patiently answering his questions, I finally blurted out, “I don’t know. But it feels right to me. Look, it basically tells me to avoid pretty much what my entire diet has been: meat, poultry, fish, eggs, cheese, dairy, oils, refined breads and pasta and sugars.”

Let’s give it a shot, and see what happens.

Oh and by the way, I hate cooking and struggle daily with feeding my family of six as it is. And seven years ago, I bought the first edition of the Engine 2 Diet book but was intimidated by the ingredients and recipes.

Add to that, ironically, I just started working six months ago for a company that sells and services fire trucks so the ‘Fireman’s Diet’ feels destined for me. And Austin, Texas where the author of the Engine 2 Diet is from, is where I went to college and my ‘heart home’.

And I figured if I blog it, it will keep me more accountable so that when I want to quit .. say later this afternoon … I won’t. So here I am on Day One. I started off my morning with some organic oatmeal with apple, pumpkin seeds and bananas. The picture on the box looks like something my dog threw up, and I get that according to the diet they are supposed to be ‘steel cut’ not rolled oats (I had to look up the difference here.)  but this was a Costco find from my husband that has sat untouched for several months with no one even remotely interested in eating, so I thought I would start this way.  Have I mentioned that we do not have any extra money for this diet so that will be a concern as well …

oatmeal

As I started eating my breakfast mindfully, I thought of the book I am currently reading. It is about a girl who is in Rehab. Her mentor tells her the acronym ‘HALT’ as a reminder to halt whenever you are: Hungry, Angry, Lonely or Tired. Good God, especially if you add ‘Afraid’ (the flipside of Anger), I”m not sure I even remember a time that I haven’t been at least one of those things …

I am fully admitting that I have spent a lot of time eating and drinking in order to avoid those four things and the rather painful feelings that are associated with them.

And so I sit on the couch and as I eat each bite, I remind myself that it’s really lovely to be alive, and in honor of this body and life that I’ve been given, here’s to Change.

Would love some company on my journey, you can take the Seven Day Rescue Challenge by going here  and order the book here

9 comments on “My Engine Two Diet Rescue

  1. Lisa
    January 30, 2017

    I’m here with you.

  2. Kristin
    January 31, 2017

    Very proud of you Karen, for trying to be the healthiest you but also for talking about it.

  3. Pingback: Of Course, All My Bad Choices That Got Me Here Are My Parent’s Fault and All The Bad Choices I Make Nowadays are My Children’s Fault … Day Three of My Rescue Diet. Taking Responsibility. – The DF App: Find a Women's Circle

  4. Ashleigh Richardson
    February 11, 2017

    Hi Karen
    Just found your blog but not sure if ill find it again, lol I’m starting the plant based diet on the 1st of march, going cold turkey, although i have spent all of jan and feb preparing, still waiting for my books, amazon have been delayed but just did a parcel track and should be here before D day……or what I’m calling P day, i have got a separate fridge/freezer and have been slowly experimenting and stocking the freezer with my efforts so i will always have something on hand. Its a complete change for me, similar to you, so im happy to communicate and see if we can help each other through it.
    Regards
    Ashleigh Richardson
    Queensland, Australia

    • Karen Moon
      February 11, 2017

      Glad to hear from you! I am on Day 12. I feel fantastic .. and pissed off at the same time. LOL. No seriously, fairly certain I have been eating my emotions my entire life so figuring out how not to do that to me is the most important part of this diet. Yes, please stay in touch. There is a sign up for the blog where you will get my next blog post or email me at Admin@TheDFApp.com … best of luck. It’s an awe inspiring change; I read the posts on Facebook and am floored.

  5. Ashleigh Richardson
    February 11, 2017

    Good luck

  6. Pingback: ‘Your Whole Life is a Stress Test’ – Day 18 of my Engine 2 Rescue Diet | Keep On Path

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2017 by in Mama Thoughts and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,251 hits
Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

iOS, Android & Web Architect, Developer, Designer, Programmer, Trainer and Writer.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

