Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

With a Little Bit of Weird Thrown In for Good Measure

pagan_party

‘You’re denying your inner witch.’

Come again?  Now my boys and my husband would tell you I don’t deny her at all.  She comes shining through quite often.

But that is what my friend told me.

She considers herself a ‘witch’, is comfortable calling herself that and believes in the sacredness and seriousness of all the ‘witchy’ things she does.

Good for her.  I mean as long as she is a ‘good witch’ and intends good and light and love through her actions, not evil and control and manipulation.

What incredible times we live in!  And what an incredible place we live in that we have the freedom to consider ourselves witches or pagans, Sufis, New Age gurus, Catholics or Protestants or Non-denominational Christians.

Not too long ago and still today in other countries, people are killed for their beliefs – routinely executed, beheaded, thrown in jail and ostracized for believing outside the norm or that which is dictated by those in power.

And so except for the rebels throughout the ages, we learned collectively to keep our mouths shut and our opinions to ourselves.

But the next step of evolution is to find where you are comfortable in your own skin – your inner weirdness.  Be confident in your beliefs but with a respect for your neighbor.

Most people hold in themselves.  ‘Not for me’, ‘Don’t agree’, ‘You’re a kook’ is what their thinking, but outwardly, they’re smiling and nodding their head.

Instead, couldn’t we try:

‘Interesting perspective, but I don’t agree.’  ‘Not for me, personally.’

‘But you have a right to your own opinion.’

I have taken a trip over to the weird side, but what I have found is that sometimes they can be just as judgmental with their crystals, group soul retrievals and sacred altars.

I am comfortable with my inner witch, just as I am comfortable with my traditional Catholic, my socializing Methodist, my incense-burning Hindu and my dancing Sufi.  They all bring different things to the table – some of which I agree whole-heartedly with and some of which I disagree.

Meanwhile, we’re having a heck of a party.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by in Favorites and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,424 hits
Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere: Astrology, Tarot, Metaphysics, Tinfoil Hat Conspiracy Stuff, Other Weird Stuff, and sometimes Fertility Goddess Icons (Scantily Dressed Pinup Girls)

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com LLC

Custom Mobile Software development, design, publishing, debugging and maintenance.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

The Girl From Jupiter

(aka Random and occasionally interesting ramblings of a valspeaking, lifelong wannabe, INTJ, Jupitan who pretty much lives in a cave, observing the rest of the world)

