Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

The Truth

45216_167578506730320_600432474_n

Mean. Bitchy. Lazy. Undisciplined. Opportunistic.

Hypocritically-Christian.

Sloth with dirty calloused unattractive feet.

Sloppy dresser.

Liar.

Incapable. Hippie Liberal.

Bad … mother. … housewife.

… wife.

The above are ‘truths’ in my ex-husband’s and my current husband’s eyes.

I will not tell you which said which (or if both said both.)

But neither started with those ‘truths’.

‘Truth’ is a relative term.

We all come to it with our own unique backgrounds and current agendas.

I can choose to share with you all the truly horrible things that prove I am far, far from perfect and have made many mistakes along the way.

Or I can choose to share with you my small daily victories.

I am less interested in your ‘truth’ than I am in how each day and each interaction you treat your enemies, your friends, your children, your step-children, the neighbor who lives next door.

That is your truth.

And each day is a new day.

*********
From http://www.lisajobaker.com
So our word for Five Minute Friday this week? Let’s make it: TRUE. Because I need your true stories. Just like I hope you need mine. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/#sthash.L44lTL1K.dpuf

5 comments on “The Truth

  1. Rabia @TheLiebers
    September 27, 2013

    I have often commented to my daughter that there are times when it is important to be truthful and there are times when it is important to be kind. Whatever the truth of those statements you’ve been on the receiving end of, they don’t seem to have been said in love. I am sorry for that. The real truth is that you are a child of God, lovingly created in His image and you deserve to be respected for that at the very least.

    • Karen Moon
      September 27, 2013

      Rabia, No, they were not said in love … they were the receiving end of verbal abuse. I personally (and lots of other people) don’t think I am any of those things – well, my feet do tend to stay a bit dirty but I like feeling the earth between my toes. 🙂 Bit apprehensive that my post is too harsh for Lisa’s site 🙂 but I guess I was making the point that the truth is ‘subjective’. Seem to be doing some thinking lately from reading several different blogs the ‘truth’ that we all share on these … is it kind? is it necessary? Hmmm, depends on the purpose – you developed an opinion of me from those words – valid? I think not, but if I shared my ‘truth’ about the people in my life, you would do the same of them … how much do I share, how much do I keep? My point being I prefer to focus on the good, the future, the small daily victories. Take care, Karen

  2. Cole
    September 27, 2013

    Yes- the happy, daily small victories they are just as real as the bad is purported to be. What you choose to focus on is your business- that was the point in mine. It isn’t all one or the other. And just because someone else thinks something is truth doesn’t mean they are or it is. xoox

  3. elle @ being stepmom
    September 30, 2013

    I don’t believe those men’s version of the “truth” from reading your posts and your comments. Yes, we all make mistakes but you are trying to lead by example I think and treating others with kindness and love. Focusing on the good is important and don’t let anyone tell you lies about yourself. xoxo

    • Karen Moon
      October 3, 2013

      Thanks Elle! I don’t believe those things either. I have always been a bit too good at seeing things from other people’s perspectives, forgiving them and therefore allowing all sorts of abusive people in my life. I still forgive them, but I no longer allow abuse in my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2013 by in Five Minute Friday's and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,251 hits
Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

iOS, Android & Web Architect, Developer, Designer, Programmer, Trainer and Writer.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

