Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

Five Minute Friday – ‘Belong’

georgia

From Lisajobaker.com – Five Minute Friday – 5 Minute Writing on a Prompt … ‘Belong’

Georgia (my 15 month old) and I are on the beach alone.

Next to me, there is a mother with her baby.  She sits underneath an umbrella while an older lady and two men attempt to put together the beach tent.

I have the same beach tent, and I am wrestling with it as well.  I watch them for pointers, but when they cannot figure it out, I give up as well.

I tramp back up the long stairway to the car with Georgia on my hip to get the beach umbrella.

On the way, I joke with the lady with the baby that no way will I be able to put my tent together if the three of them cannot.

Another woman close by is throwing a ball to a 3 year old.  Two other children are in the water playing.  Ice chests and other beach paraphernalia abound.

She tells me she is here from Augusta, Georgia visiting their in-laws.

I have spent the better part of my life trying to be her.

And I am not.

I am the one on the beach with a 15 month old by myself.  It is not supposed to be that way.

Life, especially with young children, is easier when you belong to a troop.  You have breaks.  You have more than two hands to do things.

My mother says I romanticize.

‘Relatives are like fish,’ she says, ‘they go bad after three days.’

I am 43.  I will never be that lady on the beach surrounded by a helping family.

The grandfather holds the baby while others pack up.  There is something so soothing about the juxtaposition of young and old. It just feels right – interlocking pieces of a puzzle.

Maybe someday I will be the Grandmother.

8 comments on “Five Minute Friday – ‘Belong’

  1. thisgalsjourney
    July 19, 2013

    Oh my….I can soooooo relate to this! We live far from our extended family and have the same longings.

    • Karen Moon
      July 20, 2013

      Those of us not blessed enough to have the support and proximity of a biological family, it is difficult to continually form new support communities! … and then I have moved so many times, it feels as if I have continually had to start again. I suppose that is what life is, picking up the pieces and starting again … at least God gives you the tools you need. Take care, Karen

  2. shortybear
    July 19, 2013

    good writing.

  3. Dana
    July 20, 2013

    May you know His arms around you and find a deep sense of belonging in Him. And yet… I also pray He sends you a community – Christ with skin on. He places the lonely in families…

    Bless you friend!

    • Karen Moon
      July 20, 2013

      Dana, very nice of you, thank you for the kind thoughts … I am enjoying this writer’s circle 🙂 I keep intending to make my posts more upbeat, but then this is what comes out … perhaps I need to wade through this first. 🙂 Take care, Karen

  4. Patty Mejia Burke
    July 20, 2013

    Karen, I read what you wrote and then your reply to Dana’s comment. Please don’t wade through your thoughts before you share them with us; that’s the beauty of 5MF. You don’t need to be upbeat – just be yourself. That’s my favorite part of belonging (there’s that word!) to the group of 5MF writers!

    God bless you! My mom lives in town but everyone else in my family is at least four hours away, so it’s pretty much my husband, 14-year old son and I. But, as Dana says, God is our family and He is always near 🙂

    • Karen Moon
      July 21, 2013

      Thanks, Patty … I am enjoying Five Minute Friday’s and meeting some blogging friends. And yes, I know should not ‘overthink’ things … have had that tendency as well as a slight martyr ‘pity-me’ complex which I have shed (or tried to) in my older wiser age. 🙂 Actually the subject of this blog was one of my nicer memories from my recent vacation (just Georgia and me on the beach), so although I do regret not being surrounded by extended family, I have also gotten rather comfortable with my own company and in my own skin plus had the good fortune to meet many terrific friends over the years … scattered around. 🙂 Take care, Karen

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2013 by in Five Minute Friday's and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,405 hits
Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere: Astrology, Tarot, Metaphysics, Tinfoil Hat Conspiracy Stuff, Other Weird Stuff, and sometimes Fertility Goddess Icons (Scantily Dressed Pinup Girls)

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

Mobile & Web Development Services. android, ios, vr, iot, ai, chatbots...

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

