Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

You’ll Get Mixed Up With Many Strange Birds As You Go

Image

What do I want to say in a blog?

Do I have anything original to say?

Is it mainly ego?

Is it the same unhealthy urge that draws people to Facebook, pasting this and that perfect picture, seeking approval and support without actually doing any of the real work of a relationship?

Our need for social interaction reduced down to a computer screen that you can easily control.

Relationship.  R-e-l-a.  R-e-a-l.  Real time.  Real person.  In front of your face.

Theory:  Benefits of working from home reduced by unhealthiness of  co-working relationships.  I see this with my husband who works out of the house.  I remember this with my last job where I worked from home.  It is far easier to be nasty, negative and confrontational, to not see the real person when you are e-mailing or on the telephone.

Would the ego bumps happen as often in a physical office?

The mind goes off on tangents of dishonor, disrespect, grievances so easily in one’s absence, but when an actual soul is within arm’s reach, usually the soul overrides.

Cherry-pick technology since it is full of extremes – good and bad.

So how to use the technology to its best advantage?

Finding like-minded people to be encouraged by and to encourage.

Finding those on similar paths and helping each other along.

For example, Facebook, year or so ago, I was friending everyone  and watching the numbers rise – 50, 100, 200 – yea me! But I realized as I went through my newsfeed chronicling their everyday routine moves, I was not thinking ‘positive’ thoughts.

It was not a good use of my time.

Jealousy, pettiness, other negative feelings were foremost, and then I would have to think my way through these to the positive.

Not healthy!  And so I ‘de-friended’ all but local people (to find out local real events to attend) and inspirational people and groups.

Now I go through my newsfeed and the majority is filled with uplifting tidbits to help me along my path.

Funny enough, many times I find it is exactly what has been on the recesses of my mind.  I oftentimes go back in amazement because several different sites will be discussing the same thing, something that applies exactly to where I am at the moment.

I am on path.  Are you?

One comment on “You’ll Get Mixed Up With Many Strange Birds As You Go

  1. Cheri
    August 16, 2013

    So true to all of this, Karen! I am not a huge fan of FB – at all. I keep going back and forth on whether or not to create a page for my blog, but I don’t like the thought of being on there more than necessary. Like you said, it is things in my newsfeed that just bug me. I really don’t need to know that a girl I knew in elementary school was just at Subway for lunch- there are so many more important things to fill my brain with. I see a lot of people using FB as just craving acceptance. Blogging could do the same things- I’ve come across a few sites like that. Those aren’t the ones that are going to change the world though.

    “Finding those on similar paths and helping each other along” -yes! That’s us 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,405 hits
Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere: Astrology, Tarot, Metaphysics, Tinfoil Hat Conspiracy Stuff, Other Weird Stuff, and sometimes Fertility Goddess Icons (Scantily Dressed Pinup Girls)

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

Mobile & Web Development Services. android, ios, vr, iot, ai, chatbots...

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

