Keep On Path

Wasn't Jesus the original hippie? With his sandals, dress and kind, compassionate, tender, joyful nature? What a loaded word that is! I am oftentimes called a hippie – in some ways, I am, some not. I am an Older Mom with Young Kids and Older Kids, Four in All – Remarried, Striving to make a Step Family with Love and God's help.

Keep on Path

kop

Whatever that path might be.

It might be marriage to the same man for forty years. It may be a divorce. It may be two.

It might be one child or none or fifteen.

It may be a career or a calling or a relationship.

But you were put here to do something.

It does not have to be Nobel Peace Prize worthy. Most of them are not.

But to God they all are.

Find it. Your own personal path. Your body lets you know when you stray. Your gut tells you, your heart, your knees … ‘fear’ leads me.

What am I afraid of? What would I do if I were Not Afraid? This is often my indicator of path.

Don’t try to please other people and don’t spend time worrying who likes you and how much.

That was a hard one for me to learn. As I thought if you are a good person, people will like you. When actually the opposite is true, if you are trying to please and being inauthentic, the wrong people will like you for the wrong reasons.

When you are being real and true and following your path, you will make enemies. Period.

Love your enemy as you do yourself.

And forgive your enemy.

Father, they know not what they do.

Not that I am anywhere like Jesus. He is my hero, but I am far too selfish and human.

Know the truth and the truth will set you free.

John 8:32 and the motto of my alma mater the Great University of Texas at Austin

Your truth is not my truth is not his truth.

But you have your own truth.

And a large percentage of us spend our lives running from it.

Face it.

Truth is followed by grace.

We all have those moments in life, when you have tried and tried and tried … to fit a square peg into a round hole, to force the contours of your life to bend a certain direction, to control what is uncontrollable – we all hit that wall.

Then what?

Some become bitter, angry and withdraw. Some retreat to their shell, quit taking chances and hole up.

Others meet The Moment. The Moment when you look up to the Universe and say ‘I can’t do this any more; I hand it to you.’

From the iconic Christian Course of Miracles, paraphrasing when the author finally hits that wall, gives it over to God and then expects to wake up in a freshly painted house, with a white picket fence and the birds singing.

But instead, God tells her that he thinks they must start from scratch …. And destroys everything.

Giving it to God does not guarantee that you will not have trials.

Giving it to God gives you the strength to get through those trials and promises that something good will come out of the suffering.

Grace.

Serendipity.

When you are on path, the tools you need are given to you.

It is a wondrous thing.

Find beauty in each gift that is given to you – be that the money you needed to pay for the new washer, the friend you needed for encouragement or a beautiful sunrise watching a hawk’s flight across the pine trees.

Live in the Present.

Wholy.

Holy.

2 comments on “Keep on Path

  1. Susan
    June 14, 2013

    Beautiful! I love this Karen. I love your style of writing too… especially the last to words “Wholy. Holy.” Oooh, that’s powerful! I have also learned many of the same lessons on my path. Especially the ones about not worrying about pleasing others and my Truth. If I feel like fear is motivating me then I stop to evaluate. Because I choose Love 100% of the time over fear.

  2. karenleemacg
    June 14, 2013

    Thanks, Susan … as I said, I have been reading and enjoying your site for awhile now. Think you may have misunderstood my ‘fear’ comment – as someone whose life as often been hampered by fear or anxiety, I meant continually asking myself ‘what would I do if I weren’t afraid?’ And then doing just that …despite the fear, so it is really courage not fear that is the motivator and then not in competition with love (as your motivator) but a co-conspirator.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,251 hits
Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

Brigid's Grove

Art & Ceremony for Your Creative Spirit

Midwives of Change

Helping you through life's transitions

Fairegarden

Gardening in East Tennessee

Lost Dudeist Astrology

An Exploration of the Shadow Side of Lost Dudeists Everywhere

Radical Muse

"We are the weavers, we are the web".

Dr. Bairavee Balasubramaniam PhD

The Sky Priestess: Astrologer, Doctor of Political Science, Spiritualist and Public Speaker

Hekate's Sanctuary

Sanctuary of Propolos (Guide/She Who Shows The Path)

Lotus Gypsy Soul: My Shangri-La

Because not all who wander are lost

Bgmeyer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shamanic Wise Woman

Dancing under the Moon and Stars

The Apple Branch - A Dianic Tradition

The Apple Tree - The Noblest Tree of All

WoodsPriestess

Exploring the intersection between Nature, the Goddess, art, and poetry as well as the practical work of priestessing.

MoniGarr.com

iOS, Android & Web Architect, Developer, Designer, Programmer, Trainer and Writer.

Shining Through The Shadows

Helping you find inspiration and fulfillment in your life through learning to love deeper, shine brighter and connect more fully!

MAGO ACADEMY

Magoism, the Way of WE in S/HE

